Inaugural Post – French Flourless Chocolate Cake

It’s been about six years since I stopped blogging. However, since I have a lot more spare time (post-degree blues), I thought I’d start writing again. 🙂

This blog will be filled with:

precious memories,

thoughts (sometimes whimsical),

travel stories,

photos (lots of them), and

tried and true recipes I’ve found over the years (mostly involving chocolate).

To start us off, I’ve decided to share a wonderful flour-less chocolate cake recipe (#noms).

French Flourless Chocolate Cake: French Ties: Love, Life and Recipes | Penguin Books Australia.

A week or two ago, I was asked to make dessert for our STAND worship team night. Our wonderful and fearless leader is on a gluten- and dairy-free diet so I wanted to find something that would be suitable for her to eat. This recipe is gluten-free but unfortunately not dairy-free – I posed this to her and she said she would live. 🙂

This recipe was shortlisted and eventually became the winner. I must admit, I don’t think I’ve ever tasted something so dark and so good (even my dad liked it – that is something). As per usual though, I put in half the amount of sugar listed. Also, instead of 200g of (usually 45%) NORMAL dark chocolate – I used 100g 70% dark chocolate and 100g normal dark chocolate.

Finally, to counter the potential bitterness, I dusted a light layer of icing sugar onto the top of the cake before serving.

Enjoy the delightfully scrumptious chocolate-y-ness! 

Blessings,
D x

Leave a Reply

