Accidents, Bach, & Thankfulness

On the 1st of August 2009, I sliced my thumb (to put it very bluntly). It wasn’t just my thumb, it was the area in between my thumb and my forefinger. I won’t go into the details of how it happened, but it was so deep I could see my tendon.

I know. Urgh. I’ll stop describing it. 😛

I was rushed to the hospital and they used skin glue instead of stitches to put my flesh back together. Praise the Lord for skin glue. My hand was in a cast for two weeks and after that, I had about a month to rehabilitate my left hand for my UWA music audition. I planned to play a Bach Prelude and Fugue and this particular fugue is brutal for the left hand (twists, turns, stretches, you name it). While practising, I needed to constantly monitor my wound to make sure it didn’t decide to split open again during those finger stretches. Finally, I decided to follow through with the audition even though it caused me a lot of pain. I’ve been practising for hours and days on end for this audition. I’ve put way too much into this and I wanted to take my chances. Getting into UWA and majoring in music was my dream, although it seemed like my little accident would ruin my chances of ever getting in.

However, God is a good God and I think He really wanted me to get into UWA music too because I got an acceptance letter several months later! The next few years were brutal in their own way, but I matured and developed my skills like never before. To be honest, despite the blood, sweat, and tears, I would never ever trade those years for anything else.

5 years have passed since that incident – every year on the 1st of August, I give thanks to God for showing me that He does work everything for His children’s good, no matter what it may look like from the outside. I thank God for fulfilling the dreams and desires of my heart. He’s so very patient and so very loving. And mostly, I thank God for being there for me through thick and thin, the good, the bad, and the ugly.

Romans 8:28 – ‘And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.’

That is my testimony. What is yours?

Love,
D ❤ ❤ x

 

Leave a Reply

